随着最近出现的自助网站的出现,政府政策甚至鼓励卖家和买家自行处理交易,今天的消费者必须对是否应该使用代理感到困惑。房地产经纪人在房地产交易中的角色是什么?

 


买方

 

让我们从卖家的角度来探索。 卖方当然能够推销,谈判和处理他自己的财产。 但是,我们不要忘记,买方和卖方有两个相互冲突的目标 - 买方想要支付最低的价格,但卖方想要为他的房产取得最高的价格。

有时房产中介可能会跟进一位似乎对房子感兴趣的买家,以推动交易。 然而,当卖家拨电跟进买家,他将失去他的讨价还价的地位。 他显得太渴望出售,因而不会从买家那里得到高价。

 

出售自己的房产也是一项情感上的任务。我们的家是我们自己的反映,对我们财产的批评似乎直接打击了我们的自尊心。然而买家通常会批评房房子,以降低价格。如果你不能保持中立,在棘手的谈判中保持冷静,我们建议你用第三方代表你处理,以免破坏交易。

 

有些人认为屋主是他们房子最好的推销员,因为他们熟悉他们周遭的一切。虽然他们有关于他们房子利弊的一般信息,但他们通常没有对他们的辖区内的专业销售交易信息。知道最近的交易数据只是冰山一角。业主通常只知道自己的单位,但熟悉一个项目的房产中介已经看了许多单位,知道不同单位如方向和格局的利弊。一个经验丰富的中介能够分析和比较,并通过多年所看的各个单位有深入的了解,再加上从邻居关系得到的第一手信息,他更有优势。

 

许多卖家认为,通过自己营销自己的房屋,他们会获得更好的“感觉”。情况可能并非如此。例如,当宣布开放的房屋时,可能会有很多人流。但,并非所有的人都是真正的买家。有些自是抱着来“看看”的态度,而其他人则是房产中介,他们想要查看房产并将其推荐给自己的买家。



对于想要自助的卖家来说,他们认为自己可以节省佣金,但他们也可能面对买家的房产中介直接提交报价。在大多数情况下,佣金必须支付给推荐房子给他们的客户代的房产中介。拒绝付款可能会削减代理商服务的大量买家。


房产中介拥有专业人士的一些优势:他们对更多营销渠道有所了解,因为某些门网站不允许买方打广告。此外,房产中介可能有其内部网络渠道,可以增加他们与潜在买家的联系。最后,房产中介每天/每周进行交易谈判,因此更擅长为客户实现更好的价格。

 

 


买方

 

许多消费者简化了购买过程。 他们经常选择一个项目或社区,寻找最便宜的房源,在预算内查看一些房源,以较低的价格讨价还价,并完成交易。这是以太简单的方法做如此重大决策。

 

当购买房产时,一个好的经纪人将能够通过观察趋势线来告诉你进入市场的正确时机。他还可以向您展示,在总体规划中的发展,或白皮书和人口增长如何影响您潜在的资本收益,如何确定某些地点。

 

最重要的是,他可以衡量你所列出的单位的入场价格是否正确。他可以给你分析一下你所选择的项目是如何升值和贬值的,以及未来是否还有进一步的收益。

 

如果您正在购买转售单位,营销代理将总是试图说服你,他们的单位是最好。有一个代表你的经纪人在你的身边,将能给你正确的建议。

 

当然,如果你是一个精明的买家,你觉得你不需要专业的建议,卖家的经纪人会很乐意直接与你合作,但要记住,卖家的经纪人会把卖方的利益放在第一位,而不是你的。

 

 


房东

 

使用负责任的房产中介进行租赁可以大大减轻房东的负担。 根据政府准则,房产中介的工作在交易完成之后结束。 但是,许多房产中介在租赁过程中仍然会继续处理问题,以便为其客户提供最好的服务。 这些服务可能包括安排承包商纠正房屋中的缺陷或问题,代表房东解决问题,并在规定期限结束时进行单位回交,并代表房东代为房子受到的损害所偿。

 

在房客和房东之间有一个中间人有一定的优势。房产中介可以帮助缓解承租人提出的某些请求。当房客直接与房东联系时,往往会提出房东难以拒绝的请求。例如,我们有一个客户,常得到单位帮助他那经常出差的房客的妻子, 解释一些厨房器具的用法。一个好的房产中介会使他免于做这吃力不讨好的苦差。

 

当有人修理费纠纷时,房产中介也有助于解释租赁协议中的条款。在房子回交过程中,有经验的房产中介可以判断损坏是否是由于磨损或疏忽造成的。当有损坏时,房东和房客一般都太情绪化和主观。当涉及到房产中介时,他可以帮助提供中立的意见,并提供客观的建议来纠正这种情况。

 

房产中介还可以帮助修改和制定租赁协议以保护其客户的利益,尤其是当租户提出异常请求并想要取出或更改标准条款时。 有些租户向房东施加压力,让他们屈服于无理的要求。 当存在关于房产损失的争议时,这可以节省大量资金。

 

一些房产中介在交接期间做缺陷报告,以记录在租约开始时哪些缺陷已经存在。 拍摄的照片将能在租约到期时,双方能清楚哪些是由租户造成的,哪些不是。

 

当你的房客拖欠租金付款或迟到时,你的房产中介也更容易要求租客支付租金或发送温馨提醒的工作,而不用亲自催租。

 

与其自己管理房产,不如让专业人士管理你的房产,以减轻出租房屋的压力

 

 


租客

 

当你的租金和租约足够高(通常是3000新元/月,租期两年),有时使用房产中介根本不会花你任何费用。如果不是的话,你每月租金的一半将会抵消你自己找单位的负担。

 

一个专业人士对新加坡的公寓更熟悉,因为那是他日常生活的一部分。他可以根据你的喜好提出建议,并为你节省额外的看房时间。他甚至会计划看房时间表,预约和提供接送服务。

 

房产中介能更好地了解租赁交易,因为他拥有这些信息的专业应用程序,可以让他在官方网站上刊登之前看到交易讯息。 通过使用这些应用程序并了解业主的心态,他可以帮助您协商更好的交易。



熟悉文书工作意味着他能够发现对租客不利或不符合标准条款,并向您提出以便建议和讨论下一步该如何。

 

 


所有的房产中介都是一样的吗?

 

到目前为止,我们已经讨论了使用代理的好处。 新加坡的房地产经纪人受到高度监管。然而,我们必须注意,并非所有代理人都是平等的。做你的尽职调查,并检查你的代理人的履历。最好是从和他一起工作的人那里得到推荐。如果你是一个卖主/房东,他打算如何推销你的房产,请向他询问他的营销计划



不同的代理商专注于不同的领域,坐下来讨论他的专业领域是否适合你是个不错的主意:一些代理商专注于特定的地点,一些更熟悉租赁而不是销售,一些擅长分析和服务买家。 其他人善于重组您的投资组合,并帮助您充分利用您的投资。 最重要的是,找到一个优先考虑你的利益并且不把他们的佣金作为优先考虑的人为优。

 

另一方面,如果你只与一个代理商合作,你会得到他的承诺,他会更倾向于向你的财产投入更多的市场营销成本,或者花更多时间处理你的案子,因为他知道他的投资和 努力将最终得到回报。 他也会坚持要求更优惠的价格,而不是推动你接受第一个要约,因为他知道他拥有独家权利,并且不必与其他代理商竞争以完成交易。

 

有太多的代理商会导致代理商对你的房地产市场失去兴趣或使用你的单位来获得买主/租户。他们不会被激励,因为他们成功将你的单位交易的机会是非常低的。。因此,他们将优先考虑竞争对手数量保持低的客户。客户可能会重复看你的房子,因此忘了谁看过你的房子。不择手段的代理商也可能降低你单位的要价,以吸引来吸引更多客户。

 

 


结论

 

我们希望这篇文章能够帮助您了解代理人的角色。 如果您有房产要上市或正需要购房,请联系我们的顾问。 我们很乐意与您会面,进行无义务咨询

 

免责声明:本文仅作为指导,您不应只根据本文做出您的决定。 建议您向有执照的房地产销售人员寻求专业意见,协助您规划您的房地产投资组合。

With the slew of Do-It-Yourself portals and websites that have recently emerged, and even government policies that encourage sellers and buyers to handle their own transactions, consumers today must be left confused as to whether or not they should use an agent. Just WHAT is a real estate agent’s role in a property transaction?

 


THE SELLER

 

Let’s explore from the seller’s point of view. A seller certainly is able to market, negotiate and transact his own property. However, let’s not forget that a buyer and seller has two conflicting objectives – the buyer wants to pay the lowest price possible but the seller wants to achieve the highest price for his property.

 Sometimes an agent may follow up with a buyer who seems interested in order to push the deal forward. A seller who calls the buyer to follow up however, will lose his bargaining position.  He will seem too eager to sell and will not get a high price from the buyer.

 

Selling your own property is also an emotional task. Our homes are a reflection of ourselves and criticisms about our property seem like a direct hit at our egos. Buyers however will usually criticize a property in a bid to knock the price down. If you are unable to remain neutral and keep your cool in tricky negotiations, we recommend that you use a third party to handle it on your behalf in order not to burst the deal.

 

Some people believe that homeowners are the best salesperson for their house since they know everything about their neighborhood. While it is true that they have general information with regards to the pros and cons of their home, they usually are not equipped with specialized information about sales transactions in their precinct. Knowing recent transactions that took place is only the tip of the iceberg. Owners usually only know their own units but agents familiar with a development have seen many units and know the pros and cons of different units, facing and layout. An experienced agent will be able to analyze and compare, and have first-hand information through years of daily viewings and connections to your neighbors.

 

Many sellers think that they will get a better ‘feel’ of the market through marketing their homes themselves. This may not be the case. For example, when an open house is announced, a huge number of people may turn up. Not all of these will be genuine buyers. Some are there to have a look-see while others will be agents who want to check out your property and recommend it to their buyers.

 

For sellers who want to DIY as they think they can save commission, they may also face buyers’ agents approaching them directly with an offer. In most cases, commission would have to be paid to the agents as well for recommending their clients. Refusing to pay may cut out a huge chunk of buyers served by agents.

 

Agents have a few advantages being industry professionals: they are privy to more marketing channels as some portals do not allow owners to advertise for themselves. Also, agents may have their internal networking channels which can enhance their outreach to potential buyers. Lastly, agents also negotiate on a daily/weekly basis and are more skilled at achieving a better price for their clients.

 

 


THE BUYER

 

Many consumers simplify the process of a purchase. They often select a project or neighborhood, look for the cheapest listings, view a few within their budget, bargain for a lower price, and close the deal. This is a simplistic way of making a major decision such as this.

 

When buying a property, a good agent will be able to advise you the right timing to enter the market by looking at trend lines. He can also show you how certain locations will be enhanced by developments in the Masterplan, or how the White Paper and population growth affects your potential capital gains.

 

Most of all, he can gauge if the entry price is correct for the units that you have shortlisted. He can give you an analysis of how the projects you have chosen have appreciated/depreciated and whether there is scope for further gains in the future.

 

If you are shopping for a resale unit, the marketing agent will always try to convince you that their unit is the best one for you. Having an agent on your side to advise you will help you to put things in perspective.

 

Of course, if you are a savvy buyer, and you feel that you do not need professional advice, sellers’ agents will be pleased to work directly with you but do bear in mind that the sellers’ agents will put the sellers’ interest first as compared to yours.

 

 


THE LANDLORD

 

Using a responsible agent for a tenancy saves much grief on the landlord’s part. Under government guidelines, an agent’s job ends the moment the transaction is complete. However, many agents continue to take care of issues during the course of the tenancy in order to provide the best service to their clients. Such services may include arranging for contractors to rectify defects or problems in the house, going down on behalf of the landlord to sort out issues and doing the handback of the unit at the end of the stipulated period and asking for compensation on the landlord’s behalf for damage suffered.

 

Putting a middleman in between the tenant and the landlord has certain advantages. An agent can help to buffer some requests that the tenant makes. When the tenant is in direct contact with the landlord, they tend to make requests that the landlord find difficult to reject. For example, one of our clients had to keep going down to his unit every time the wife of his tenant couldn’t figure out how to use some appliances in his kitchen as her husband was often travelling. A good agent would have saved him the thankless task of making these trips.

 

Agents can also help to interpret the clauses in the tenancy agreement when there is dispute over who is to pay for repairs. During handover, agents with experience can decide whether damage is due to wear and tear or negligence. When there is damage, both landlords and tenants tend to get more emotional or defensive. When there is an agent involved, he can help to give a neutral opinion and provide objective advice to remedy the situation.

 

An agent also can help to modify and craft the tenancy agreement so as to protect his client’s interest, especially when the tenant makes unusual requests and want to take out or change standard clauses. Some tenants can arm-twist their landlords into giving in to unreasonable demands. This can lead to a lot of savings when there are disputes about damage to the property.

 

Some agents do defects reports during handover to document which defects were already present at lease commencement. Photos will be taken so that at lease expiry, it is clear which were caused by the tenant and which were not.

 

When your tenant defaults on the rental payment or is late, it is also easier to get your agent to do the job of demanding payment or sending a gentle reminder than to personally do it.

 

Having someone to professionally manage your property takes the stress off renting out your home.

 


 THE TENANT

 

When your lease is high enough (typically $3000/month with a two years’ lease), sometimes using an agent will cost you nothing at all. If not, a fee half of your monthly rental will take off the burden of finding a unit yourself.

 

A professional is much more familiar than yourself with Singapore and its condos, as it is part of his daily routine to visit them. He can make recommendations based on your preferences and save you the extra visits. He will even plan the viewing schedule, make appointments and drive you from place to place.

 

The agent will know rental transactions better as he has specialty apps for these information which can let him see transactions before you see them in official websites. With these apps and having an understanding of landlords’ mindsets as well, he can help to negotiate a better deal on your behalf.

 

Being familiar with paperwork means that he will be able to spot clauses that are unfavorable to you as the tenant, or clauses that are not standard ones, and highlight it to you in order to discuss the next step.

 

 


ARE ALL AGENTS THE SAME?

 

We have thus far discussed the positives of using an agent. Singapore’s real estate agents are highly regulated. However, we have to caution that not all agents are equal. Do your due diligence and check the track record of your agent. It is best to get a referral from someone who has worked with him. Ask him for his marketing plan if you are a seller/landlord and how he intends to push out your property.

 

Different agents specialize in different areas and it is a good idea to sit down and discuss if his area of specialty suits you: some agents are focused on a particular location, some are more familiar with rental than sales, some are good at analysis and serving buyers. Others are good at restructuring your portfolio and helping you make the most of your investments. Most importantly, it would be good to find  someone who prioritize your interest and who is not putting their commission as their priority.

 

On a side note, if you work exclusively with one agent, you will in return get his commitment and he will be more inclined to invest more marketing costs into your property, or spend more time working on your case since he knows that his investment and efforts will pay off in the end. He will also hold out for a better offer price instead of pushing you to accept the first offer since he knows he has the exclusive rights and doesn’t have to compete with other agents to close the deal.

 

Working with too many agents will lead to disinterest on the part of agents to market your property or serve you as a buyer/tenant. They are dis-incentivized as their chances of closing your unit are very low. Therefore they will prioritize clients who keep the number of competitors low. You may end up with duplicate viewings, and may lose track of who has visited your property. Unscrupulous agents may also lower your unit’s asking price without your knowledge in order to attract calls.

 

 


CONCLUSION

 

We hope that this article has been useful in helping you gain perspective about the role of an agent. If you have a property to market or are looking for one, please contact our consultants HERE. We will be happy to meet you for a no-obligations consultation.

 

Disclaimer : This article serves as a guide only, and you should not make your decision based solely on this article. You are advised to seek professional advice from a licensed real estate salesperson to assist you in planning your real estate portfolio.